Q&ampA: I want to hang a 5 light island lite over my kitchen island?

Q&ampA: I want to hang a 5 light island lite over my kitchen island?

Question by liteproblem: I want to hang a 5 light island lite over my kitchen island?
. I have a recessed lite over the island but it is not exactly centered. Can I use a can lite adapter over this receseed lite to hang the island lite. I was thinking if I try to centre the lamp then some wires may show between the recessed ligt and the lamp along the ceiling. But that is okay. Can this be done.

Best answer:

Answer by customartist
Locate your ceiling joists. Buy or cut a wooden plate which will be larger than the area that you need to cover. Paint it the same color as the ceiling, usually white. Mount the new fixture to the board running the wires through the board, connect the wires to the junction box, and then screw it to your ceiling at the joists, centering it where you want it to be. Essentially you are creating a custom medallion, although plain, which is fine. You want the focus to be on the light, not the mountings. It can be round or rectangular or square, etc. It will be rigid however to support the weight of the new fixture, unlike a bought (foam) one. Doesn’t matter where the junction box falls behind the new wooden back plate. I may not have grasped the exact picture here, but you get the idea. Don’t get wrapped up in the details, just envision what you want and do it. It is just physical matter, and it can be manipulated. I fix things like this all the time. Good luck!

Know better? Leave your own answer in the comments!

Leave a Reply

